Free Enterprise Award

Get your tickets today for our 39th Annual Free Enterprise Award Dinner on May 16, 2022!

The annual Free Enterprise Award banquet honors a business and community leader. Started in 1983, this has become a coveted award, a list of “who’s who” of community leaders. The event also serves as the primary fundraiser for the Rotary Foundation of Green Bay.

To review sponsorship opportunities and the corresponding benefits, please click here.

Click on the buttons below to purchase your event tickets!

2022 Free Enterprise Award Recipient

We are proud to announce the selection of Chris Woleske, President and Chief Executive Officer of Bellin Health, as the 2022 Free Enterprise Award recipient. This selection continues a long line of businesspeople in the Green Bay community that have exhibited the tenets of Rotary in their daily and business lives.

Woleske has been with Bellin Health in a variety of roles since 1998, becoming President and CEO in 2018. During her tenure she led the acquisition of several specialty practices including Cardiology Associates, Gastroenterology Associates and NEW ENT; led expansion of Bellin Health services in Oconto, Wisconsin and Marinette, Wisconsin and was instrumental in the development of Bellin Health Titletown Sports Medicine & Orthopedics. Prior to joining Bellin, Chris was an attorney at the law firm of Liebmann, Conway, Olejniczak & Jerry, S.C. A graduate of the Stanford Graduate School of Business Executive Program, Woleske earned her Doctor of Law (J.D.) degree from Marquette University Law School and has a bachelor’s degree in healthcare administration from UW-Eau Claire. Please join us in congratulating Chris Woleske!

2022 Charity Partner

Recognizing the impact of COVID in the health sector on critical mental health services in particular, Rotary selected Foundations Health & Wholeness as this year’s Charity Partner for its role in providing accessible mental health counseling for children and adults in Brown County.

Founded in 1965 by George Kress, Foundations provides approximately 15,000 counseling sessions to the Brown County community annually as well as foster care throughout Wisconsin. The COVID pandemic has taken a toll on everyone’s mental health, with record numbers seeking support for themselves and their children. Foundations reports that more than half of the children and teens they serve cannot otherwise afford counseling. Foundations is addressing these challenges in multiple ways, including with the recent creation of a Family Navigator position to work with parents and other family members across community systems. As this year’s Charity Partner, Foundations will dedicate funds received from the Free Enterprise Award event to counseling services to support children and teens, as well as their families, in Brown County. Learn more at

Over the last seven years, the Green Bay Rotary Foundation has distributed back to our community over $600,000 in funds through this event.

Thank you to our 2022 Event Sponsors!

Gold Sponsors:

Jack & Engrid Meng

Silver Sponsors:

Bronze Sponsors:

Bellin College

Camera Corner Connecting Point

Elizabeth B and Philip J Hendrickson Foundation Ltd

Greater Green Bay Community Foundation

Green Bay Packers Give Back

Larry & Lois Weyers

Law Firm of Conway, Olejniczak & Jerry, S.C.

PDQ Car Wash

Somerville Architects & Engineers

St. Norbert College

The Business News

The Martzahl Group at Graystone Consulting

Tim & Judy Howald

Wisconsin Public Service

Previous Award Recipients

2021 – Mark Murphy – Green Bay Packers
2019 – Craig Dickman – Breakthrough/TitletownTech
2018 – Michael Haddad – Schreiber Foods
2017 – William “Red” Lewis – PDQ Car Wash
2016 – William F. Kress – Green Bay Packaging
2015 – Susan Finco – Leonard and Finco Public Relations Inc.
2014 – Mark McMullen – Associated Bank
2013 – Tim Weyenberg – Foth
2012 – Mark Skogen – Festival Foods
2011 – Terry Fulwiler – WS Packaging Group
2010 – Rick Chernick – Camera Corner Connecting Point
2009 – Robert “Bob” Gallagher – Associated Bank Corp.
2008 – George Kerwin – Bellin Health Systems, Inc.
2007 – Larry Ferguson – Schreiber Foods, Inc.
2006 – Timothy Howald – Tweet/Garot Mechanical, Inc.
2005 – Larry Weyers – WPS Resources Corporation
2004 – Frank A. Wood – Green Bay News Chronicle
2003 – John C. “Jack” Meng – Schreiber Foods, Inc.
2002 – James F. Kress – Green Bay Packaging
2001 – Carl W. Kuehne – American Foods Group
2000 – Harry B. “Nick” Conlon – Associated Bank Corp.
1999 – K.C. Stock – KCS International, Stock Lumber Co.
1998 – James Madigan – FEECO International
1997 – Leo Frigo – Frigo Cheese, Paul’s Pantry
1996 – Don DeMeuse – Fort Howard
1995 – Louis Konop – Konop Vending
1994 – Robert Bush – Schreiber Foods, Inc.
1993 – Robert Harlan – Green Bay Packers
1992 – Donald Schneider – Schneider National
1991 – Ron Weyers & Wally Hilliard – American Medical Security
1990 – Donald Long – Imperial, Inc.
1989 – Steve Van Dyke – Foth & Van Dyke
1988 – Frederick Baer – Paper Converting Machine Co.
1987 – Paul Ziemer – Wisconsin Public Service
1986 – Phil Hendrickson – Krueger International
1985 – John “Jake” Rose – Associated Kellogg Bank
1984 – Merlin Bush – Schreiber Foods, Inc.
1983 – George Kress – Green Bay Packaging